Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?


I love music. Although I will gladly listen to something from every genre, I will always go back to rock and metal. Metal is my favourite kind of music, and because there are so many genres within it (heavy metal, thrash metal, black metal, nu metal, and so on) I can always find something that will suit my mood. However, I never really feel as though I connect to music in the sense implied with this prompt – there are no songs that I can say send me an important message or remind me of a specific moment in my life. To me, music is not like that at all.

Some songs will stand out to me for a while. I’ll listen to them regularly, but then another band will come along with another album and another song I’ve never listened to before, and for a while they will take over, until they too are pushed aside for something else. It is particularly hard to pick out songs that are special to me. Nevertheless, after much thought, I have selected three songs that have encouraged me to involve myself in this type of music. It was a tough decision as there was so much choice.

1. Saxon – Wheels of Steel (Wheels of Steel, 1980)

It was not easy to select a song from Wheels of Steel to suggest, because it is a fantastic album, but in the end it had to be the title track. Suzie Hold On came a close second. As I remember, this was one of the first songs that I heard by Saxon and one of the first metal albums that I listened to in full. Whenever I hear this playing, I cannot help but sing along. Of course, the whole album is classic – this song is only the tip of the iceberg.

2. Iron Maiden – The Wicker Man (Brave New World, 2000)

This may not be Maiden’s best song (oh, how could I possibly choose?), but it’s one that has always captivated me. I can still remember sitting in ICT class next to the boy I fancied at fourteen or fifteen, and getting excited when he played this song to me on YouTube. From that moment on, Maiden was my favourite band and I got into metal very quickly. It really deserves a mention for that alone.

3. Furyon – Wasted on You (Gravitas, 2011)

I first listened to this song on a free compilation with a magazine. Then, if I remember correctly, a little while afterwards I got the CD free with the same magazine. Furyon deserve a mention because before I started listening to them properly, most of the bands I was listening to were formed in the 70’s and 80’s. They really rejuvenated my interest in modern metal bands as well as established bands and have helped to introduce me to a load of new music.

There are also lots of other bands and songs I wanted to mention that did not make the cut. I really wanted to include Black Widow, who are under appreciated to this day. Motorhead almost made it instead of Saxon. Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Grand Magus, Candlemass and Huntress were close to making the cut. If you’ve never listened to any of these bands, I suggest you take a quick visit to YouTube and blast their top songs out at a good volume.

Share your Thoughts

