Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration.

The word I have chosen is ‘young’.


To myself (aged sixty),

Congratulations! I’ve reached a good age. Whatever I’m doing, wherever I am and however my life has turned out, I hope I’m in good health and good spirits.

I could ask any number of questions, but I won’t. I could make myself think about so many things, or conjure up so many memories of my life, but I won’t. There’s only one request I have. It’s something I noticed about people years ago, and it bugs me like mad.

It’s called “the good old days”. You know, those days when the sun never stopped shining, when everyone was friendly to everyone else and society was just perfect? Oh, those days when everything was brilliant! Well, I’ve got some news. Those days are fictional.

The most important thing I want myself to remember when I’m older, is that fantasising about my youth is wrong. There have always been things that are wrong, things that have not worked in society. Don’t get caught up in the nonsense of returning to a better time – because the world was dark when I was young, too.

Much love,

Laura (aged twenty three)

4 thoughts on “Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Share your Thoughts

