Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

Today’s Prompt: We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.


I won’t make this a long one. No point in blathering on, is there?

No point in much else, either.

Everyone has fears. I’ve always found it bizarre that people are afraid of the little things. Spiders, dogs, darkness. I can understand others to a point. Heights. Yeah I get it. Enclosed spaces. A bit weirder, but then I don’t like being close to people too much. Flying. Well, more like falling, I guess.

We all fall, don’t we? Hardly unusual.

But those things don’t seem to bother me. Pick up a spider and put it outside. Check. Help stray dogs. Check. Wander around in the darkness. Check. Climbing. Check. Working in small spaces. Check. Long plane journeys. That’s a big check.

No, those aren’t the things I worry about. They’re infrequent.

Everyday. That makes a difference.

So, what does make me anxious? Lots of things, if I’m honest. Speaking to a group of people in a formal environment. Informal is fine, but formal? People expect things of me then. Making a new post. Not all of the time, but on those days when the prompts just don’t go my way. Meeting new people. That’s a big one. Sometimes, just walking past people. Clients at work who say good morning. That makes me nervous. Doing new things. Oh, not all new things. No.

An adventure or two never hurt.

And therein lies the point. I’ve gone out on a whim and done things that loads of other people might never do. I’m not afraid to pack up my life and move it somewhere else. I’ll take on a new job. I’ll take on new challenges.

What I am afraid of is normality.

8 thoughts on “Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

  1. Normal is kind of scary if you think about it – then you’re just like everyone else. I like my alternative lifestyle of being schooled online and working part-time doing freelance. Normal is boring… be different 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting, when panic disorder is the one thing with which I’m intimate, and having to describe it just doesn’t make the grade. It falls short of the reality. It’s like, a person has to walk a mile in our shoes to really get it. Or not.
    Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Thoughts

