The Best Day

A response to this week’s prompt from Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. My word count is 174. The prompt photo is below.

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Sonya O. Thank you Sonya!

Today is the worst day of my life. It’s the day that my father, who raised me single-handedly, died. He was the greatest man in the world. After his death, I had nowhere to turn.

I went off the rails for a while, until I found the thing that helps to ground me. Now every year, on the worst day of my life, I visit his grave and lay flowers to thank him. It redeems me of my mistakes.

This time, I’m not alone. A man is stood in front of my father’s grave. He’s crying. I don’t know him, and for a while we’re both silent.

‘Did you know him?’ he asks me eventually.

‘Yes, he was my father.’

He turns to me, his dead eyes sparkling with new life. His bottom lip quivers like my father’s had when I announced my first pregnancy. Somehow, I know.

The worst day of my life is also the best day. Three years after my father died, I’m reunited with my mother’s side of the family.


You can read more flash fiction based on this prompt or link up your own response though InLinkz:

22 thoughts on “The Best Day

    • Oh thank you, I’m at work at the moment and was going to do it when I got home. I won’t need any help linking in the future – I just like to schedule things to post at times when I can’t keep going back to my blog every five minutes to check on them!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is wonderful! It really touched my heart.

    Welcome to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. We are happy you have joined us. We hope you have fun and want to continue participating. Do you need instructions or help on linking up your story to InLinkz?

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Thoughts

