A Childhood Dream

Here’s my response to this week’s prompt from Flash Fiction For Aspiring Writers. The photo prompt is below. My word count is 175.

Grapevines photographed by Vanessa Rodriguez. Thank you Vanessa for our photo prompt!

I remember Gray.

I remember how we ran through the fields chasing one another, our laughter filling the air with joy. I remember picking berries and grapes off the vines to make into jam. I remember the sound of his voice as he promised that one day, we would have fields of our own.

‘We’ll make our own jam and sell it. People will come from miles around to buy it. They’ll love it!’

Those were the days when I believed I could become anything I wanted to. Ours had been a simple dream that neither of us had needed to consider in detail. Gray had promised that we would make it.

Over time, other things became important. I discovered life is more complicated: money, a job, and stability took over. Childlike dreams of berries and jam cannotย pay the bills.

The fields are still there, but Gray and I have moved on. Neither of us pick berries or grapes anymore. Let the fields inspire others in the hope that their dreams will come true.

12 thoughts on “A Childhood Dream

  1. Making jams and jellies isn’t so hot a dream anyway. I always say (and my Phantom character says it too) “eat what’s on your plate”. And Bon appetite!

    Like

  2. But where would we be without our childhood dreams? They are so important to us as we grow up, although they will undoubtedly change over time. Eventually we discover who we are and what we really want, or need, in life. But childhood dreams stay with us forever, Lovely story, Laura. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It certainly was a sweet dream while it lasted. Too bad their dream didn’t come true, but like she said, maybe it will for someone else. Very nice story!

    In case I haven’t welcome you to FFfAW, Welcome! We are happy you have joined us and hope you enjoy and will continue. โค Peace

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Thoughts

