They Drove Me To This

Bradley had once told me that there are many strange things that influence people’s behaviour. As I dragged his lifeless corpse through the woods, I couldn’t agree more. In fact, Bradley had been a prime example of his own argument, a testimony to himself.

I had told him about the people who had been watching me. They had hidden around street corners and sat on the other sides of coffee shops pretending to be reading or chatting pleasantly. Oh yes, they’d had pretty good disguises, but I had known. I’ve never been a fool and I never will be. I have no idea why they’ve been watching me – but there’s something that they want from me, and I told Bradley about it.

Unfortunately, they got to him before I did. He said exactly what they had taught him to say when they had brainwashed him: that I was being paranoid and nobody was following me. After all, why would anyone want to follow me? What did I have that they wanted? Like I was going to fall for that.

And Bradley had tried repeatedly to get me to believe these lies! They wanted me to let my guard down so that they would have enough time to get their hands on me.

Well, I knew I had to up my game. I started staying up at night, all night. They didn’t want me to get any sleep, you see, so they hid in the bushes outside my house. I kept watch. I could never see them, but I knew they were there. And one night Bradley came around to try to manipulate me and I had decided to put an end to his tricks.

He never saw the kitchen knife coming.

They’ll come for me soon now. I can’t hide from them after this. Dragging Bradley’s body through these woods and dumping him between the trees will be the last free thing I ever do.

I have been tense and stressed out since I first noticed that they were after me, so I’m thankful for these moments with Bradley. I haven’t felt peace like this in a long time.

5 thoughts on “They Drove Me To This

  1. I can see the scene taking place, especially the dragging body in the woods. I think I have said it before but I will say it again, you are good at describing scenery.

    Like

Share your Thoughts

