Fairies

I’m telling you, my friend,
I saw them.
It was a warm summer night
And the moon was full:
A huge, glimmering orb suspended
In the patient sky.
The world waited for them,
Anticipating
Their joyful songs, that promised
To fill the air with magic.

I’m telling you, my friend,
To believe me.
They danced and twirled, making patterns
With their bright clothes
And delicate wings
That stole my attention.
Their voices were so beautiful
Tears formed
In my eyes,
As they would have in yours.

Yes, my friend, the fairies come
To those of us
Who still believe.

2 thoughts on “Fairies

  1. A Peter Pan of a tale but one that is so very near and dear to my heart…

    Where I live the stories of fairies are rampant…when I was a boy, I had to carry hard bread in my pocket while traversing through the forest as to ward off fairies who might try to take me away…

    Really enjoyed this!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Thoughts

