O England

Canvasimage_jpg

O England, you have never been
So homely, so comforting to me;
In my lonesome nights I’ve seen
My thanks owed to technology

It’s easy to contact my friends
As their lives continue on back home;
A pity that my devotion ends
With laptops and with mobile phones

This separation pierces me deep
A physical void, bereft of touch.
Heartache strikes before I sleep:
O England, I miss you so much

I was so dominant, so strong
Before this distance struck me down
Though my time here has not been long,
Within my tears I could drown

They say this crushing pain will pass,
That homesickness is just a phase;
It may feel like holding broken glass,
But I must seek out better days

© Laura Marie Clark

Excerpt from the book “City Of The World”

Please visit my author page and share in my adventure:
http://www.ctupublishinggroup.com/laura-marie-clark.html

One thought on “O England

Share your Thoughts

