Sometime Sunshine

I really enjoyed this poem. Sometimes, we try to cling onto something that doesn’t actually belong to us anymore, and we feel as though nothing can ever properly replace it.

On The Heath

traces linger
like fingerprints on the windowpane
before the rain

no tears – only pain
as fragile as droplets from the sprinkler
in the wind

losing count of the years
can’t believe how long it’s been
yet every now and then I still yearn for your radiance
my sometime sunshine

I have a burning desire
even though I know you’ll never again
light my fire

and on days when I have encounters
I find I’m reluctant to give my all
and can’t help but tread carefully
as if upon a quagmire

© Heath Muchena, 2016

View original post

Share your Thoughts

