A Child of Two Places

field-601209_960_720
Image credit: Pixabay

One is lush, fertile and green, a home for all who can appreciate the beauty of nature
It grows all around me, quiet and at peace;
The other’s filled with lights, people, drama, a centre for the busy lives of those with too much to do
It’s built all around me, noisy, and I am at peace

I know the loneliness of those empty, rolling hills
Of solitary farmers working hard to tend their crops;
I know the comfort of those crowded, moving streets
Of men and women in suits discussing business on their breaks

One is childhood and life, a home for easy memories in times of pain and longing
It grew all around me, lacking something more;
The other’s future and new life, a centre for tomorrow’s beginnings to wrap themselves around me tight
It was built all around me, promising me something more

I know the comfort of those empty, rolling hills
Of tired farmers chatting after a long day’s work;
I know the loneliness of those crowded, moving streets
Of men and women in suits glued to their mobile phones

One is out beyond the reach of modern gadgets, cordoned off to allow for the rise of cities
It’s build all around me, no longer natural;
The other’s progression in the eyes of many, developing itself in news ways, new cultures, new ideas, blending them to suit
It grows all around me, and one day will become natural

One thought on “A Child of Two Places

Share your Thoughts

