Fires of the Magic Art

Come closer child, and feel the heat rising from my hands
For I burn with a hunger for more strength
Than a mere mortal should ever command –
It radiates off me, this obsession for that knowledge
Denied by those unworthy of its truth, as just
An ancient mysticism for science to abolish –
This fever of desire leaves me aching in my bones,
Their rattling a tune of concentrated effort,
To practice, to discover all, until my art is honed –
With scorching intensity I come before the Masters of old
So I can learn at their feet all that it takes
And become worthy of tales of my own to be told –
Like those who came before me, wrongfully mistreated
By the sceptics, fools, and cowards of their ages
Abused, accused, condemned by the fearful men who bleated –
“Save us from that which we cannot hope to achieve ourselves”,
Irrationally testing the ire of their superiors,
But testing witches can be dangerous: they bring you Hell –
The flames of which arise, when I call them by decree
To do my bidding, and curse all of those
Who dare in their ignorance or false beliefs to defy me.

One thought on “Fires of the Magic Art

Share your Thoughts

