Readers: YouTube (Or Alternate Media)

Here’s something you may already be aware of: I am afraid of public speaking. So much so, in fact, that it can be difficult for me purely to reply to a comment in case I somehow “get it wrong”. This happens to be one of the reasons why I gravitate towards writing things down (then shutting my eyes and running away as fast as I can!). But in November, I’ll be starting something new (and, quite frankly, horrifying). I’ll be posting videos of myself reading some of my poems and short stories on YouTube.

If this seems like a big step, then that’s because it is. But there’s no point in merely doing what makes me comfortable over and over again – it’s time to expand.

This month, we’ve been thinking about ways to increase our online readership – we’ve covered using captivating imagery, what we are reading and how we are interacting with it, sharing and reblogging to demonstrate influence, and exploring other styles or areas of writing. What better way to end the month than to take this all one step further – by allowing our writing to be discovered by a whole new audience that wants to listen to what you have to say?

YouTube is like any other website. Establishing yourself will take time, effort, and the ability to adapt to and change what you provide according to what people want. In a couple of months time, I’ll be able to discuss the difficulties of expanding into this quite different area of media in more detail.

If, like me, you’ve never used YouTube very much before, then this can sound like a really daunting idea. However, I’m sure that there was a time when the mere thought of posting your writing online came with, if not fear, then at least a feeling of nervous unease. Speaking your writing out loud can allow your audience, both current and potential, to hear what you have written in the way that you hear it. There’s only one way to see where it can lead – and I’ll soon be finding out.


This month’s theme is READERS. If you have written something that you would like me to share on this blog that could help new and upcoming writers to reach more readers, then please post a link in the comments or email me on lauramarieclark1@gmail.com with the subject: Readers.

5 thoughts on “Readers: YouTube (Or Alternate Media)

Share your Thoughts

