Love Poems are Hard to Write

 

A touching poem.

Postcards from Purgatory

I faced your world intoxicated by beauty
but your angels refused to sing
so I faced you like an expiry date
knowing everything;
I knew your love would hide
diving deep into doubt
I knew you’d blame the alcohol
I knew you’d blame me too
I knew I was your way station
on the road you had to walk
I knew that touch meant nothing
when you could no longer feel, that
you would start to lie when you couldn’t talk
I knew you would make excuses
I knew you would invent freedom from you
and stay enslaved to your fears
I knew all this

and tried to love you, anyway.

View original post

Share your Thoughts

