Across the Great Distance

The great voice of some mystical being –
I hear you calling me on the wind,
A rising sound that ever grows in volume
Until my ear drums threaten to explode;
I am here, though I feel as if I have
Withdrawn from the best part of the world:
When your cries echo across the distance
There is nothing I can do to comfort you;
Yet fear not, I will always be there
In spirit, a body without a soul
I drag around with me, day in, day out;
That’s how I hear your every word,
Calling me on the roaring wind, for we
Will never truly be apart, as long as
My soul remains there, clinging onto you.

6 thoughts on “Across the Great Distance

Share your Thoughts

